Capital One Financial Corp. launched its internal Snowflake cost‑management tool as a commercial product—Capital One Slingshot—on June 1 2022. Exactly four years later, on June 1 2026, Capital One Software announced AI‑driven query‑optimization features for Slingshot, as detailed in the company's product release.
The bank's Q2 2026 results, filed with the SEC on July 21, 2026, report net income of $3.0 billion, or $4.73 per diluted share, and frame the quarter almost entirely around integration of the Discover acquisition — Capital One is "now 14 months into" that integration, according to Capital One's Q2 2026 earnings release filed with the SEC. Capital One Software is not mentioned. Neither is it mentioned in the year-earlier release, filed after the bank reported a $4.3 billion net loss tied to Discover purchase-accounting effects, per Capital One's Q2 2025 earnings release filed with the SEC.
What Slingshot actually does
Slingshot is a management layer that sits on top of Snowflake, the cloud data warehouse, and is aimed at customers of Snowflake rather than at Capital One's banking customers. At launch, Capital One described it as designed to "help businesses accelerate adoption of the Snowflake Data Cloud, manage cloud costs, and automate critical governance processes," according to Capital One's PR Newswire launch announcement. That is a FinOps tool — software for tracking and controlling what an organization spends running its cloud infrastructure — built by a bank that had already run the workload at its own scale.
The origin story is dogfooding taken to its logical endpoint. Capital One migrated off all eight of its on-premise data centers by November 2020 and closed the last one in 2021, according to Capital One's own newsroom material cited in the launch announcement. Patrick Barch, senior director of product management at Capital One Software, told SiliconANGLE at Snowflake Summit in June 2022 that the bank built internal tooling because "with all of this power comes a lot of responsibility," and that the tooling produced "about 27% on our projected Snowflake costs" in savings and "about 50,000 hours of manual effort" saved for internal teams, per SiliconANGLE's coverage of the Slingshot launch. Those two figures — 27% and 50,000 hours — are the entire published evidentiary basis for Slingshot's value proposition. Both come from the vendor selling the product, describing its own prior internal use, in an interview conducted at a conference Snowflake sponsored. No independent audit, customer disclosure, or third party has restated either number since.
Four years on, the product line is still shipping features rather than disclosing results. The June 2026 update added what Capital One calls context-aware AI query optimization: software that scans an environment's queries by cost, runtime, and frequency, then generates machine-recommended fixes with projected cost and runtime improvements attached. No incumbent is named, and no share figure is given.
What four years of silence could mean
Our read is that the parent company's regulatory record does not settle this question, but it is relevant context for how much weight to put on claims Capital One makes about its own operational track record. FinCEN assessed Capital One a $390 million civil penalty on January 15, 2021, for what the agency called willful and negligent failures to maintain an anti-money-laundering program under the Bank Secrecy Act, according to FinCEN's enforcement announcement. Four years later, on January 17, 2025, Capital One customers were unable to withdraw funds or view account balances for at least two days after what the bank attributed to "a technical issue with a third-party vendor," without naming the vendor, per The Register's report on the January 2025 outage. Neither event touches Capital One Software directly, and neither is documented as related to the other.
The comparison nobody can run yet
| Question an investor would ask | What is publicly available |
|---|---|
| Slingshot revenue or ARR | Not disclosed in any Capital One earnings release reviewed |
| Customer count or named accounts | Not disclosed |
| Competitive win/loss data vs. other FinOps vendors | Not disclosed |
| Cost savings claim independently verified | No; figure originates from Capital One's own product executive |
| Contribution to segment or consolidated financials | Not broken out in Q2 2025 or Q2 2026 releases |
Source: Capital One's Q2 2026 earnings release, Capital One's Q2 2025 earnings release, SiliconANGLE's 2022 launch coverage.
The empty cells in that table are the story. A bank has run a B2B software product for four years, kept funding its engineering roadmap through a 2026 AI release, and given the public nothing to underwrite its economics beyond a self-reported percentage from a 2022 conference interview. Whether Capital One ever breaks Slingshot out as a line item — voluntarily, or because it grows large enough that materiality forces the question — is the fact that would finally let an outsider tell these two readings apart.